Board of Directors


2014 -15 Board Members

The Board of Directors consists of eight people representing various stakeholders of the cycling industry and community interest groups, who govern the Foundation's operations. The Board meets on the third Tuesday of every second month to discuss issues and assist in steering the Foundation into the future.

Peter Versluis - chairperson

My occupation: I currently combine a range of activities including providing business advisory services as a partner of nem Australasia; running my own event management business and teaching at Notre Dame and Edith Cowan Universities. 
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: I became involved in the Foundation after participating in the inaugural end-to-end Epic 1000 ride in 2013. After three weeks making our way from Albany to Mundaring with 26 like-minded people I was keen to see what I could do to promote the trail to others. So in the spirit of Victor Kiam, I liked the trail so much I bought into it.
My current/favourite mountain bike: I have two mountain bikes and they both get a regular ride. My 26" Yeti ASR-5 is the one I use on the twists and turns of the Kalamunda Circuit while my Yeti SB-95 29” is my go-to bike for the long, open rides on the Munda Biddi Trail.
My favourite places to ride: My favourite place to ride is anywhere off the road and in the bush. The Kalamunda Circuit provides the thrills and spills but the 50 km of the Munda Biddi Trail from Mount Frankland through to the Yirra Kartta Hut is the best.

Richard Beazley - vice chairperson

My occupation:  Operate my own consultancy Altair Mining Consultancy as well as a director for TR7 New Horizons and TR7 Security.
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: I joined the foundation last year on the cusp of its fundamental change from the building phase to the new phase to maintain and put in place a sustainable financial model. I believe that I can assist the Foundation utilising my experience and skill sets to achieve this required sustainability.
My current/favourite mountain bike: I will have to admit that I am not a great advocate for actually using the trail simply because my business interests take up a lot of my time and my family has priority. That said I do get around on my old city bike that will take me around the suburbs and occasionally to work.
My favourite places to ride: My most favourite off road ride is where I worked for a time up around Southern Cross and Marvel Loch where there are endless tracks mixed in with a lot of agricultural and mining history. Need to careful as the region has a strong passion for off road motor bikes that share the tracks- though one can have a lot of fun on some of the jumps that the innovative locals have put in place over the years.

John Hughes - secretary

My occupation: Director and owner of SIGN ON Group – Sign consultants.
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: I was asked to join the Board to provide input based on a strong corporate and not for profit administration background.
My current/favourite mountain bike: Klein Adroit.
My favourite places to ride: Rotorua Lakes, New Zealand and the Munda Biddi Trail around Denmark.

Neil Brodie - treasurer

My occupation: Finance Manager at Chevron Australia.
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: I started (and am still) doing trail maintenance on the Munda Biddi Trail before joining the Board as Treasurer. The Munda Biddi Trail provides so many economic, social and health benefits for the community so I became a volunteer help ensure it was well looked after and had a sustainable long term future.
My current/favourite mountain bike: My current mountain bike is a Pivot Mach 4.  It is very old school, with DW link suspension and 26” wheels, but it is lots of fun to ride on.
My favourite places to ride: Anywhere and everywhere.  The Munda Biddi sections around Dwellingup are fun and I always take the bikes on trips to Pemberton, Margaret River, and Ferguson Valley as they all have great mountain bike trails to play on. On most weekends you’ll find me in the Perth Hills around Kalamunda on either my road or mountain bike.

Jim Sharp - Department of Parks and Wildlife representative

My occupation: Director General, Department of Parks and Wildlife. 
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: Lifetime professional interest in the development of trails.
My current/favourite mountain bike: Giant.
My favourite places to ride: Highly variable, wherever I can.

Bron Suchecki - community representative

My occupation: Manager, Analysis and Strategy at The Perth Mint.
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: My first experience of riding in Perth was via the Wilderness MTB Club, which was very much about Munda Biddi style riding. I’ve joined the Foundation Board because in terms of increasing tourism and health I think the Munda Biddi Trail has great potential to get people out on their bikes to do some “bushwalking on wheels”.
My current/favourite mountain bike: Pivot Mach 4.
My favourite places to ride:  Jarrahdale.

 Ron Colman - community representative

My occupation:  Hydrogeologist, currently Manager Water at Roy Hill Iron Ore.
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: Originally became involved (in 2006) to assist in completion of the Trail, now my aim is to fulfil the potential of the Trail.
My current/favourite mountain bike: For touring the Trail, I ride a 2013 Gary Fisher 29” Trek.
My favourite places to ride: Since completion of the Trail through to Albany, the sections around Denmark (coastal) and the Valley of the Giants through into Walpole have become favourites; still enjoy sections north and south from Dwellingup.

Justin von Perger - community representative

My occupation: I am a software developer with my own company producing Internet savvy applications for the mining Industry.justin resized
Why I became involved with the Munda Biddi Trail Foundation: When I discovered the Trail existed, I wanted to ride it end to end, ideally with my family enthusiastically in tow. These days, I’m just happy to ride bits of it with mates!  I think the Trail has enormous potential to engage young people with adventure holidays and cycling, while providing oldies like myself with a more civilised touring holiday utilising trail-friendly accommodation.
My current/favourite mountain bike: Giant Anthem X; my first new bike in 15 years.
My favourite places to ride: It's hard to get time off to ride the Trail itself, so I settle for the Kalamunda Circuit and Railway Reserves Heritage Trail loop in the wee hours of Sunday mornings.

Trail Supporters

Thank you to our corporate sponsors and commercial partners.

Read more


Our latest news, events and info in your inbox once a month.

West Leederville Office

Our administration is now based at Cycling Central - 105 Cambridge Street West Leederville. 

Phone 1300 654 161 or 08 6336 9699.

Cycle Friendly Businesses

MBTF CFBsThe Cycle Friendly Business (CFB) Program connects cyclists and businesses on the Munda Biddi Trail.

Browse our directory of current CFBs or find out more about becoming a member





Tourism awards

© 2011 Munda Biddi Trail Foundation

Website developed by Joomstore